own medieval hplc set

Off-topic conversations and chit-chat.

4 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi,

My name is Dorian and I'm IV year Pharmacy student from Poland. I thought lately of acquiring a hplc system myself, mainly because of the fact that i want to train my hplc service skills. Of course as a student my funds are limited, so the pump, detector and other parts i plan to buy, will not be a high class equipment.

And here comes the question:

http://www.ebay.pl/itm/Beckman-110B-Sol ... 541efbe28c

What is the chance that this pump will work sufficiently effective (by 'sufficiently' i mean, that the outcome dont have to be repeatable, existing outcome will be enough :) )
What is the chance that if the pump works, it will be broken while being shipped (USA->Poland)?

Regards,

Dorian
Those pumps are fairly "bulletproof" mechanically, and spare parts for the liquid end like pistons, seals, & check valves are still widely available. The big question with anything that old is the electronics. They are selling it "as is", but they are not a chromatography company, so your guess is as good as mine on functionality. Assuming reasonable packaging, it's hard to imagine any damage in shipping.
-- Tom Jupille
LC Resources / Separation Science Associates
tjupille@lcresources.com
+ 1 (925) 297-5374
When we started SIELC in 2003, we built first 2 QC systems for about 500 dollars each. It had old Spectro Physics autosampler (paid about $200), Water 600 HPLC pump ($60) and Kratos detector ($200). All purchased on Ebay. One system is still running after 12 years :)
Vlad Orlovsky
HELIX Chromatography
My opinions might be bias, but I have about 1000 examples to support them. Check our website for new science and applications
www.helixchrom.com
Oh thanks for your reply! (sorry that that it took me about a month to reply)

Vlad Orlovsky - the detector's lamp was ok after you bought it or it needed replacement?