Whats the secret behind selection

Off-topic conversations and chit-chat.

9 posts Page 1 of 1
Few months back, I went for an interview for QC analyst in a pharmaceutical company. I have been working in analytical development lab since I completed my master in analytical chemistry by 2004. The interview was good, they ask me blaa blaa how to develop a method etc etc .It really went good. Then , the last question was weather I am interested in routine QC job or not. I told them that I am looking for a permanent position and after all I love working laboratory and I dont have any problem. Then I got a feed back from them after few days that I was too good in deveopment and suitable for RnD work and they feel that I may not stay longer. I was really upset , not because they did not select me , but wasting my valuable time for nothing. They knew already I am working for development lab. then why call for interview.I just can not believe there are lots of people who do not know what they want. I keep wondering, if the feed back from them was true, what is the secret behind the selection:)
In the end they did you a favour - if you really are a method developer then routine QC would drive you crazy.

And the accusation of time wasting can go both ways - why did you apply for a QC analyst job when you want to do R&D ?

Peter
Peter Apps
I almost wasn't hired by my current R&D employer because my university grades were too high, and they felt I wouldn't stay around in an entry-level job. Well, that was 35 years ago, and I'm still here, shows how much employers can project and predict such stuff.

QC analyst in pharmaceutical company must follow strict cGMP regulations, no option of improving a validated procedure without typically lengthy (expensive) re-validation. But if QC and R&D are at the same site, might be a way to get your foot in the door to R&D there.

I develop and validate cGMP test procedures forover the counter products.