How could I make my extraction column, tubes, etc ?

Basic questions from students; resources for projects and reports.

10 posts Page 1 of 1
Dear all, please help me for sake of humanity and education world.

I am new to my job and need to get skill in every thing related to chemistry. Now we need to extract:

1- Metals from different environmental samples
2- pesticides from fruit , food

Someone said to me because we don't have any extraction instrument ( SPE, MSPE ETC ) , they said build your extraction by your self ,,,, like take a syringe and fill it with material and do extraction !!!

Could you please illustrate this , do you have video to show me this and other ( Self- designing extraction technique )

Shall I just go and fill any tube with silica Jell , or C18 etc how ?

The person who told me saw someone do it but did not understand it and me also

Thanks
Employ a chemist for sake of humanity and education world.
I do believe that you don't have a good grasp of the complexity of your problem. I'm with Forse. You should staff someone who understands these concepts.
Sorry, but you CANNOT learn analytical chemistry just by watching people do things. You have to understand what is going on. Metals and pesticides need completely different methods of sample prep and analysis.

Whoever is giving you these instructions is putting you in danger.

PLEASE get some proper training before you injure or poison yourself or someone else.

Petere
Peter Apps
Hey guys, please don't just throw things without consideration. Let me ask I know chemistry in a very a dvsnce level ok ,,,, i just want to find out if there is a book or a regulation guideline on how to prepare your extraction self-asembely, likestep one put 100 g of materials in a glass column ,,,, then added this and this etc. now materials is ready to be extraced each one based on different matrix and analyte status , sensitivity etc