CV% Is High

Basic questions from students; resources for projects and reports.

6 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi all! First time poster here. Recently ran GC and the data shows that our CV% was high. Just wanted to get an idea of why this would be... I'm new to running GC tests so I thought this would be a great place to learn the ropes. Thank you.
Welcome to the forum.

The first "rope" that you need to learn is that we can only help you if you tell us what you are doing and how. Knowing only that you are doing GC I could list several dozen reasons why you might be getting poor repeatability, most of which would be irrelevant to your circumstances.

So; what are you analysing, what concentrations, what is it dissolved in, how are you injecting, injection volume, inlet type, inlet liner, model of instrument, column type and dimension, gas flows and pressures, temperatures, what detector and detector settings, etc etc ?.

Peter
Peter Apps
Ok. I can only give you the basics since we ran it once, mostly unsupervised, and dont have access to it currently. We were testing antioxidant activity of oyster mushrooms in beef samples. We used 4-heptanone as the standard and we were looking for nonenal, pentanal, and octanal. I'll try and give you some details but unsure if they are what you need. This is all very new to me so my apologies.

-GC column (HP-1 fused silica capillary column)
-The GC tube was then attached to a purge and trap (OI analytical 4560) and purged for 15 min at 75°C.
-Our gas used was helium

Basically, I just need even one or two reasons why the CV may be high. It doesn't necessarily need to exactly apply to my situation. Just trying to get an idea of what could be a possible reason for error. Thank you.
Sadly the purge and trap just multiplies the possible sources of error.