Newbie Needs Help Understanding Chromatogram Data

Basic questions from students; resources for projects and reports.

7 posts Page 1 of 1
Hello - Let me begin by stating that I am not a chromatographer. I am actually a Sales Person for a company that manufactures chromatography consumables. I have been slowly trying to increase by knowledge base about chromatography but as a manufacturer we do not get very much exposure to laboratories. If my question sounds stupid just keep in mind that I am not technical but I am trying to learn as much as possible.

I received the following feedback from one of my customers and they noted the following differences between two consumables. They analyzed the same sample but used two different consumables.

Sample analyzed: Zoledronic Acid

Area with Product A: 7917066.98
Area with Product B: 7177961.61

% RSD with Product A: 1.53
% RSD with Product B: 0.6

The customer flagged this as "different." I am trying to get information from them about why this difference is something worth noting. In the meantime, could somebody help me to understand what this means for a chromatographer? I have my own interpretation of this but I have no idea if it's realistic. If all else was equal would one of these products be considered better than the other? If so, why? I removed the names from both because I welcome honest feedback. Again, please keep in mind I know very little about chromatography but I am willing to learn.

Thank you in advance for your advice and insight.
In addition to myriad unidentified potential variables, whether the differences are "real" or not depends on the type of consumable that was changed. It also depends on the number of runs going into the areas and RSDs reported, the quality of installation/use of the consumable as well as the number of consumable items being compared.
Thanks,
DR