ESI LC/MS of gelatine hydrolysates

Basic questions from students; resources for projects and reports.

3 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi all,

I hope someone can help me. I apologize upfront for being long-winded, but I think some background will help to explain my situation.

I am a 1st year graduate student working on my master's thesis, mainly pertaining to the characterization of different gelatine hydrolysates (I also work for a gelatine manufacturer). I am interested in determining the distribution of peptides in different enzymatically digested gelatines to see if an enzyme or a combination of enzymes produce different ratios of peptides and/or free amino acids. There is probably a better way to do it, but I would like to use ESI LC/MS, and from what I have gathered, it is a fairly novel technique in the gelatine industry, and hopefully I can convince my boss to buy a system if results are good!

Before I started doing this research myself, I had a local university run a gelatine hydrolysate sample for me. They used a Shimadzu LCMS 2010 mass spec using ESI in the positive ion mode. I have serious doubts about the validity of the test, here is my reasoning. Gelatine is basically 33% glycine. After harsh processing of collagenous tissue to make gelatine (bovine bone in this case), and then enzymatically digesting the gelatine to an average molecular weight of 2000 Da, I would expect to see some free glycine. However, there was not one peak that corresponded to free glycine, or any free amino acid for that matter. This makes me very suspicious. Maybe there are not any appreciable amounts of free amino acids, but I don't think this is true.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can proceed? Does anyone know of anyone who has done work similar to this? Is this a bad idea?