Newbie Agilent 1600 questions

Discussions about CE, MEKC and related topics

6 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi all I am new to CE. I have just acquired an Agilent 1600 CE system and have some questions.

-Is it possible to prepare capillaries yourself for this instrument? I understand that the window needs to be 8-9cm from the end and 1.5 to 2mm wide (very small window). I saw instructions using a splicer of some sort is there a way to shield the area on either side and burn it yourself?

-Vials. Can I use standard/cheap screw cap autosampler vials? Hydrodynamic pressure injection isn't very much (50mbar) so it doesn't seem like it would need specialty robust vials and caps

-Degassing is seems a bit cumbersome to sonicate such small vials full of liquid in the sonicator bath. Do they make a special floating holder I can buy or something.

-Is high pressure (gas hookup) needed for simple CZE or MEKC in open capillaries.

-How important is using the replenishment system when you are not running tons and tons of samples?

-How do you prevent microbial growth in buffers?

-Are there any trainings available? I'm am learning the best I can from books, manuals, and the like but there is a paucity of information available compared to HPLC and other more widespread techniques especially for specific instruments like installing the capillary.

Thank you very much for any advice you can give me. CE is new to me but since my lab doesn't have the resources for an HPLC CE seems a good alternative.
- You can prepare the capillaries yourself, i usually use some tin foil to protect the capillary when burning the window, i think the best way is to use an electric burner with a nichrome wire
- I don't think screw caps are compatible, only snap caps
- There are commercially available floating holders, but you can easily make some of styrofoam
- High pressure is not needed for simple CZE, only if you do CEC or CGE