Ion-exchange Chromatography - Fronting and tailing peaks

Discussions about IC and related topics

4 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi everyone, I am new in IC field and I am doing Sodium and Potassium analysis with Shimadzu HPLC system (Conductivity detector) with the following test conditions:

Mobile phase: 0.005M Nitric acid (HPLC grade) diluted with de-ionized water (conductivity less than 0.1 µS). It is filtered through 0.45µm membrane and sonicated for 30 minutes to eliminate all remained bubble.
Column oven: 40 C (there is another component that needs temperature to be kept at 43 C but I do not know what to call it, sorry for my bad English)
Flow rate: 1.0 mL/minute.
My sample are prepared by diluting high-purity Potassium Chloride and Sodium Chloride in the same de-ionized water used for mobile phase preparation.

Here is my problems.
1. Peak due to Sodium is fronting (Asymmetry factor: 0.755), whereas, peak due to Potassium is tailing (Tailing factor: 1.749) although I am using a totally newly-purchased column (Shimadu column IC - C1) which is certified to have great performance with alkaline analysis using test conditions same to mine.

2. Retention time fluctuates day after day although I used the same mobile phase.

Any advice would be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Hi,

What is the detector temperature, this should be the same as the column temperature. A column temperature of 40°C may be too high, try 30 or 35°C.

Has the column been fully conditioned?

What do you mean by ‘alkaline analysis’. You are injecting salts into an acidic mobile phase.
Kind regards,
Ade Kujore
Marketing
Cecil Instruments
Cambridge
United Kingdom

email:- ade.kujore@cecilinstruments.com
telephone:- +44 (0) 1223 420821
web site:- www.cecilinstruments.com
Registered Number 909536