GC/MS

Discussions about GC-MS, LC-MS, LC-FTIR, and other "coupled" analytical techniques.

8 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi all:

This is my first time posting something on this forum. I work with electronic noses (e-noses) and lately my partners and I have thought of purchasing a GC/MS unit since we need it to validate our results. Does anyone know if I can purchase all the equipment necessary to do GC/MS analysis for under $5,000? Please excuse my ignorance if the price is ridiculously low but I know nothing about GC/MS. Nevertheless I have seen some units within that range on ebay.
We are looking to buy a complete unit with all the bells and whistles to do GC/MS. Of course, we need it to be functional. Any help will be appreciated. Thank you.

Jose
Welcome to the forum.

For a new or refurbished GC-MS (single quadrupole) from an instrument manufacturer (first-hand sale) you're looking at ~20-60K price range. Prices vary a lot with different configurations, and how much discount you can get.

I can't comment on the price / quality you can expect from ebay (or similar source) sales, but with a 5K budget I believe that's the place to be.
Hi:

Thanks for your reply. Yes I figured that these things are very expensive.
There are some Chinese brands that are probably within my range. We don't
need it for sophisticated analyses, but just to validate results on an
electronic nose.

Jose
An older system like an HP 5890/5971 is probably doable for your price. This is a sentimental favorite of mine-I learned GC-MS on one, run my own business servicing a few, and also "resurrected" one at my day job not too long ago that's now is more or less daily service.