Cannot Get Foreline Pressure Down

Discussions about GC-MS, LC-MS, LC-FTIR, and other "coupled" analytical techniques.

9 posts Page 1 of 1
Hello all,

If I leave the column flow on for my GC-MS the foreline pressure will no longer drop below 114mTorr. If I close the column flow it drops to around 50mTorr. Does anyone know how to fix this?
Troubleshoot your GC inlet issue, and fix that.
Consumer Products Guy wrote:

Do you think this is a leak in the inlet? How would you go about diagnosing that? Sorry, I am an amateur chromatographer.
handlovic wrote:

Do you think this is a leak in the inlet? How would you go about diagnosing that? Sorry, I am an amateur chromatographer.

First I would measure the flow out the detector end of the column.
Can we get more details? What instrument is this? What rough pump are you running?

~40-50mTorr(with He) is about what I get using an Edwards E2M1.5 on an Agilent 5975. That's consistent with what the user manual says. I've run it on a Varian DS 102 before and could get ~20mTorr foreline pressures(about what I get now on the 5971 using that exact same pump) at .5mL/min.

Personally, I'd try fitting a blank ferrule in the transfer line line nut and then pumping down overnight to see what you get. This will let you isolate the problem to either the vacuum chamber or the transfer line.

If it pumps down okay with a blank ferrule, consider these points:

1. Are you using the appropriate ferrule material(I like graphite/vespal) with the correct ID for your column and OD/profile for the transfer line? Also, if using vespal, be sure you tighten it slightly after heat cycling it.

2. Is the column broken or otherwise damaged somewhere close to transfer line, you can get a pesky vacuum leak. The severity depends on the column ID and distance from the transfer line nut.