Noise from TD-GC-MS Chromatograms

Discussions about GC-MS, LC-MS, LC-FTIR, and other "coupled" analytical techniques.

2 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi everyone, first time poster here.

I'm a second year PhD student working with ambient air samples and analysing them via TD-GC-MS. (TD, Markes TT24-7; GC, Agilent 6850; MS, Agilent 5975C; running MSD ChemStation G1701EA). Ordinarily, the instrument has been running just fine with only a few issues to iron out here and there, but after having shut down the instrument and transported it to another institution, things have become a little unstuck. I'm now using the TD-GC-MS to identify and measure SOAs from VOCs in an aerosol chamber. The VOC is injected into the chamber and mixed with a NOx (varying ratios of NO and NO2). The samples are analysed using the TD-GC-MS, and in theory we're supposed to be able to measure VOC decay and oxidation products.

My instrument is designed to operate quickly in an aircraft, so it is equipped with a two-trap system. This allows one trap to be sampled whilst the other is sampling. At the beginning of a sample run, the sample is taken, sent through a glass cold finger (cooled to -30C by a sterling cooler) to dehydrate the sample, collected on one of two traps, passed through the GC column and analytes detected in the MS.

With recent sample runs, I've had a lot of noise appear on every other resulting chromatogram. It's tempting to think that one trap is faulty, but I'm forced to think otherwise because the calibrations I run and the blanks all produce normal, expected chromatograms, and I only replaced the traps a few months ago. Some days, the faulty chromatograms produce a lot of noise around the baseline, but I can still detect a major peak easily. Other times, so much noise is produced that the entire chromatogram is useless.