Going from SW8260C to EPA524 or dual operation?

Discussions about GC-MS, LC-MS, LC-FTIR, and other "coupled" analytical techniques.

18 posts Page 1 of 2
I've never run EPA524.3 before. I need to set up an EPA524 procedure to get drinking water certified. I've been doing 8260C routinely for 17 years.

Archon autosampler, Run in soil mode for both water and soil (purging in the sample vial instead of moving water over to the purge unit on the Tekmar 3000) tray can be chilled, but is not at present.

Tekmar 3000 P&T, VOCARB 3000 trap
5973inert/6890N GC-MS, standard turbo pump
DB-VRX 20m x 180um x 1um
split/splitless inlet, 1 min desorb, running 40:1 split
Crosslab ultra inert liner Direct, Straight, 1.2mm
18 minute run, helium carrier, typical cycle time 29 minutes

Does anybody have hints on how to get reporting detection limits for the VOC's down from ~0.5-1 ppb down to 0.002 ppb listed in EPA524.3? Is it just a matter of increasing sample size from 5mL to 25mL and being super clean?

Is there any hope of being able to use this Archon run in drinking water mode part of the time for drinking water testing; and then run waters and soils in soil mode for 8260 work? I believe the only shared paths would be the Tekmar trap, valve, and Tekmar-to-GC-inlet transfer line. Or does the difference in cleanliness of valves and transfer line make this just out of the question?

The auditor said vinyl chloride was very important and difficult. Its well behaved at 8260 calibration levels. What makes it that much harder for EPA524 work.

From searching the forum, it looks like the older EPA524.2 lets you use the same IS and surrogates as 8260. But EPA524.3 mandates a different set.
We have ours set up on separate instruments but back in the day I did run both on the same instrument.