EPA 8270 with 3511 Microextraction

Discussions about GC-MS, LC-MS, LC-FTIR, and other "coupled" analytical techniques.

5 posts Page 1 of 1
I am trying to get my wastewater/groundwater lab set up to run SVO's using the EPA 8270 on a Shimadzu QP 2010SE GCMS. I would really like to use the 3511 microextraction method if possible. It seems like there is a large discrepancy between the extraction and analysis methods regarding surrogate concentrations: The extraction suggests 10 ug of the surrogate(s), extracted into 2 mL methylene chloride, which about 5 *ug/L* final volume. However, 8270 method advises that the surrogate concentration should be near the middle of the calibration curve. Most of the calibration curves I've seen for this method range from 5-150 *ug/mL*. Why is the extraction method's surrogate concentration so much lower? Which one should I use? Thanks for your help; I'm new to environmental labs and EPA methods. :shock:
The first thing that springs to mind is that the method expects a larger injection volume. If your extract surrogate concentration is 50 ug/L and you inject 1 uL you should have (approximately) the same response if you have an extract surrogate concentration of 5 ug/L and you inject 10 uL.

I am not terribly familiar with the method though.
Notice that the method is for aromatics. These respond quite well in a MS; typically you can see 0.1 to 0.2 ug/mL MAH and PAH in full scan with a decent MS (I have an older Agilent 5973). So, when you are talking about the midpoint of a MAH/PAH curve it might easily be 5 ug/mL. This is definitely NOT true for nitroaromatics, brominated compounds, etc. but method 3511 is not for the full 8270 list. It states that it is specifically for the compounds listed, which all exhibit exceptional MS responses.