Qtrap Duty Cycle

Discussions about GC-MS, LC-MS, LC-FTIR, and other "coupled" analytical techniques.

6 posts Page 1 of 1
Hello Everyone,

I am new to Mass Spectrometry and recently started working on Mass Specs. I am working on a 4500 QTRAP.
My Question is Concerning Duty Cycle. I can understand the duty cycle concept from a triple Quadrupole perspective, However, in Qtrap I am not able to understand how much duty cycle will an MRM-IDA-EPI / EMS-IDA-EPI Method will take. Also, it will be a great help if somebody can help me understand the calculation.

Thanks in Advance
Semina
Hi,

I must say you are aiming pretty high by starting with these complex acquisition modes while being new to mass spec! But anyway, here is some kind of answer to your question: first I assume that by duty cycle you mean cycle time. The duty cycle is quite an ambiguous term since it is often used to describe the rate of transmission of ions in a time-of-flight instrument. EMS-IDA-EPI is a typical DDA experiment where the instrument scans in the trap and as soon as a peak reaches a certain thresold, the instrument switches to MS/MS to produce a product ion spectrum. MRM-IDA-EPI performs similarly but using MRM instead of EMS as first event. You can set a certain number of "simultaneous" MS/MS (=EPI) events, which will have an impact on the cycle time. In theory, you could calculate the cycle time by summing the time needed to perform a full scan plus the time taken by each MS/MS events, but this is not the end of the story: the instrument needs time to switch from one event to the next one (interscan delay) and to perform the computational process for precursor ion selection. The interscan delay value should be in principle known, but the time needed for the decision process is not and can only be measured empirically. See our recent paper that explains how to do it.

https://analyticalsciencejournals.onlin ... /mas.21715
Hi Gaetan,