inconsistent area counts gc-ms pesticides method

Discussions about GC-MS, LC-MS, LC-FTIR, and other "coupled" analytical techniques.

11 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi All,

I have been struggling with trying to finish an AR method on GCMS, I was hoping for some advice or suggestions.
I am having several problems:
1. When I run a check standard the area counts have an RSD>5%.
2. The area counts decrease each consecutive run (i.e.: if I prep the std once and run it 3 times from the same vial the area counts for a given compound look like this: 14,707 13,680 12,833).
3. I just changed the gold seal & liner prior to this set of data and had a loss in area counts. For the same compound listed above prior to gold seal & liner change: 18,545 18,115 15,900.

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated, I am pretty new to this type of work. I have included the specs and run conditions below. Thank you in advance!

I am running an Agilent 7890A gc coupled to a 5975C MSD, it has a 2 way CFT with active pressure control splitting between an MSD and an FPD. I just cleaned the source at the beginning of the month and changed the column in September. The column is an agilent DB5 30x0.25x0.25. I am using a splitless liner, running the method pulsed splitless. I am letting the std come to room temp and there is no significant temp fluctuations in the lab.

Oven Program:
45 °C for 1 min
then 20 °C/min to 150 °C for 6 min
then 10 °C/min to 200 °C for 1 min
then 10 °C/min to 260 °C for 2 min
then 10 °C/min to 300 °C for 10 min

inlet:
Pulsed Splitless
Heater On 200 °C
Pressure On 28.55 psi
Total Flow On 63.899 mL/min
Septum Purge Flow On 3 mL/min
Gas Saver On 20 mL/min After 3 min
Injection Pulse Pressure 30 psi Until 1 min
Purge Flow to Split Vent 60 mL/min at 0.8 min
When you run the same standard on the next day does the area continue to decrease or does it jump back up and then decrease?
In other words, does the response return when not running?