By Anonymous on Thursday, June 10, 2004 - 06:48 am:

Dear All:

I am an undergraduate student trying to develop a method for ethanol analysis, mostly at high ethanol concentrations. I am using HP 5890 Series II with FID.
Column: HP-5 (5 % Ph Me Silicone) 10m*0.53mm*2.65um film thickness.
I prepare varying ethanol concentrations from 80 to 95 wt%) and then I make a sample prep in a small vial such that the ethanol: water is in the ratio of (1:10). Then I inject the sample manually. I am having serious trouble in getting a good fit for my data. The regression value ranges between 0.8 to 0.9. I have developed a graph with mass fractions on the x axis and total area on the y axis.
I am not using any internal standard.

Any suggestions and help will be welcome. Please post your expert advice in trying to develop a method for ethanol.

Thanks

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
By Anonymous on Thursday, June 10, 2004 - 08:16 am:

I am not suprised your fit is not good.You may meed a more polar column and use n-propanol as an internal standard - such as a wax type column.
Have you access to an autosampler? That would help too.

GC Dave

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
By PPG on Thursday, June 10, 2004 - 08:17 am:

In FID ethanol give a very bad result. The only thing is to do test samples and curves if you are every time with the same products around.

ppg

By Anonymous on Thursday, June 10, 2004 - 08:33 am: