Solvent for long chain alcohol (LCOH) standards

Discussions about GC and other "gas phase" separation techniques.

9 posts Page 1 of 1
Hello everyone,

I am having some issues with getting LCOH powder standards into solution. Literature has suggested a heptane:ethanol ( 50:50) solution, but this solvent has not put my standards into solution. I have also tried heptane, acetone, dodecane, and heptane:isopropanol:water (70:20:10).

This is my first time posting and I am getting a little desperate for help now. I greatly appreciate any help or insight that you may have.

:D
How long?

I was using chloroform with C30-OH.
osp001 wrote:
How long?

I was using chloroform with C30-OH.

C24-30.

Prior to running them on the GC, I am making either an acetate or TMS derivative and evaporating it down and resuspending it in dodecane. So, I am also nervous that they will not be in solution in the dodecane once I make the derivative.
The nickel-and-dime test would be to add (say) 1 mL of dodecane, let it equilibrate, and squirt a sample. Then add another 100-200 uL of dodecane, let it equilibrate, and squirt a new sample.

If your peaks are the same, you know your solution is saturated and you have undissolved material. If the peaks are smaller the second time around, your solution is not saturated.

You may need heat, ultrasonication, etc. as part of the glib "let it equilibrate" step. Some of these compounds may not be motivated to full solubility over short time spans.
I got the standard to go into solution with chloroform. I am going to run this standard through our protocol and GC and see how it acts. Thank you for your help.
Hmm - in my business we did octadecanol in solid antiperspirants, rarely higher. We used dimethylformamide as solvent and derivatized with BSTFA for these.