Fish out of water, need help!

Discussions about GC and other "gas phase" separation techniques.

17 posts Page 1 of 2
Hi, I'm an inorganic synthetic chemist who has been put in charge of our broken HP 5890 II with FID and 5m capillary column and split/splitless injector. I would really appreciate help on a few things as I've no experience with electronics, engineering, or analytical chemistry!

1. After much work, I've got all the leaky pipes fixed or replaced. I ended up removing the SMART INDICATING REGULATOR cartridges that remove water from the H2 and air lines for the FID. They had massive leaks and the Airgas rep said they weren't needed for the FID lines, especially if I was using UHP grade gas. Confirmation? The rep knew the previous chemist (who was pretty bad at this job) and thought he was just used to seeing them at his old job in Texas and so bought them for those two lines.

2. I believe the ignitor coil is weak or near broken. How brightly should this be glowing? Yesterday (the first time I had things fixed enough to try ignition) the coil glowed extremely weakly, and by the end of the day it was even worse. I can light the castle with a lighter. Should I buy a new ignitor?

3. As I said I have extremely little experience doing this. I've noticed that as the ramping program brings up the oven temperature, there is an increase in the signal from the FID, is this normal?

4. I believe I have a broken mass flow controller for the septum purge. I can only detect very minimal flows from the septum purge vent if I have a huge total flow and turn the septum purge all the way up. Under normal operating conditions I detect no flow at all. If I take the pipe out of the "in" port to the controller, which is the last place I can remove before the purge vent, I can measure large flow rates. So I know it is only the restrictor in that last controller that seems to take the flow down to 0.