FID Inlet Clogged/Blocked on 6890N; Need Advice

Discussions about GC and other "gas phase" separation techniques.

19 posts Page 1 of 2
Hello,

I am an undergraduate researcher and I've had about a years worth of experience with gas chromatography. I am currently operating a Agilent 6890 N GC. I have run into some issues of late and was wondering if anyone has any advice for me.

Essentially my issue consists of the following details:
  • I was observing variability in FID readings as if I had a leak somewhere. I checked all feed lines and found no Issues and determined it must be within the GC. I preformed the leak check that Agilent recommends on YouTube, and found that the leak consisted somewhere from the front inlet to the FID. After tightening pieces and working my way down I came across the connection between the column and the FID itself (downstream on the column respectively).
  • When I gave the column a slight tug it fell right out of the connection (hence I deduced the leak was there). But my problems got worse... As when I removed the fitting that connects the column to the FID through the roof of the oven, I noticed the graphite ferrule had been completely obliterated(smushed to a flat top and unable to see through).
  • From the Agilent manual I realized that the capillary column is supposed to slide approximately 48mm through to the FID Jet. when I attempted this it would not even pass the beginning and when I removed it, appeared like I had gotten graphite and pieces of glass on it. I thought that this likely indicated that the FID jet was clogged and I reviewed steps on how to remove and clean it.