Carrier gas and analyte optimum linear velocity

Discussions about GC and other "gas phase" separation techniques.

8 posts Page 1 of 1
Apologies if this is the wrong forum to post this under, I've been thinking about this question since I was an undergraduate and up till now, I can't seem seem to find an explanation for the matter.

When we have a carrier gas we also know its optimal linear velocity e.g. hydrogen has an optimal velocity near 35cm/s. Theoretically, would this be calculated using the square root of B/C in the van deemter equation?

As for the analyte, I believe it also has its own optimal velocity by taking the square root of B/C. And this value would be different from the carrier gas' optimum velocity. So why is it that we tend to say that hydrogen or helium are preferred over nitrogen as it has a higher optimum velocity?

Essentially, why should we even be bothered by the carrier gas' optimum velocity? Shouldn't we just set the velocity based on the analyte's optimum velocity? I don't quite understand the purpose of having to consider the optimum velocity for the carrier gas.

Thanks in advance for the help!
And this value would be different from the carrier gas' optimum velocity.
No, it would not because the B and C terms cannot be estimated for the mobile phase without assuming (or measuring) the properties of the analyte.
-- Tom Jupille
LC Resources / Separation Science Associates
tjupille@lcresources.com
+ 1 (925) 297-5374
tom jupille wrote:
And this value would be different from the carrier gas' optimum velocity.
No, it would not because the B and C terms cannot be estimated for the mobile phase without assuming (or measuring) the properties of the analyte.

Hi Tom, thanks for the reply. So in a practical case, we wouldn't know the actual analyte's optimal velocity. If that's the case, how would the carrier gas' (mobile phase) optimal velocity be of any significance to that of the analyte?