EPA Method 3511 Microextraction

Discussions about sample preparation: extraction, cleanup, derivatization, etc.

7 posts Page 1 of 1
Hello,
My wastewater/groundwater lab is trying to start implementing EPA 8270 for semivolatiles. We currently don't do any other organics analysis on GCMS and I have never written a method from EPA before.

I would *love* to us EPA 3511 (microextraction) for sample prep. but I'm having trouble reconciling it with 8270. For example: EPA 3510 concentrates from 1 L to 1 mL extract, but 3511 only concentrates from about 35 mL to a 2 mL extract. This will lower the extracted concentration of the surrogates, spikes, control standards, etc. pretty drastically.

So... I have two questions:
1. What kind of quantification ranges have you found if you've used these methods together? I'm so inexperienced in organics that I can't even decide what range to cover with my calibration curve. :(
2. Will the lower concentration factor from a microextraction cause me to run into the bottom of my detection limit, and if so, should I up the concentration of surrogate, spikes, etc. to compensate.

I'm just trying to get an idea of what other labs are doing for the practical application of this method--it seems way better than 3510 in so many ways!
It all depends on what regulatory detection and quantification limits do you need to achieve. Our lab does 3510 when a customer absolutely needs the 1000mL to 10mL (100-fold) concentration, but when he can do with a 30mL to 3mL (10-fold) concentration of the sample, we are very happy to use the easier 3511 microextraction.

I'm not 100% sure right now, I think I can check later, but I think our sVOC calibration range is 0.05 to 10ppm.