Markes HiSorb Sorptive Extraction

Discussions about sample preparation: extraction, cleanup, derivatization, etc.

6 posts Page 1 of 1
Morning all,

Whilst browsing some technical notes to try and improve my sampling methods using SPME I happened across a relatively new technology by Markes, which is supposed to be an improvement on traditional SPME fibres: https://www.markes.com/Products/Sampling-accessories/HiSorb-sorptive-extraction.aspx

I was wondering whether anyone on here has had any practical experience with this technique and whether it works any better than traditional SPME?

I hasten to add that I am not affiliated with Markes in any way and this isn't designed to be an advertisement. I am a PhD student at a University in the UK.

Best wishes,

Joe
Hi Joe

I know that you are interested in headspace analysis of volatiles

Broadly speaking this falls into 2 categories

1. Static - for example SPME of the headspace with subsequent thermal desorption in the GC injection port
2. Dynamic - for example a flow over the headspace through an adsorbent, which is then thermally desorbed - this potentially gives more analyte to be detected

This one appears to fall into the 1st category.

I have no experience of it so can only make the following comments based on looking at the brochure link that you supplied

1. They say that it is PDMS based so that may alter the selectivity of analytes adsorbed
2. Yes, with a higher ad/absorbent level it will adsorb more than the thin film on an SPME fibre
3. It appears to require a lot more ancillary equipment to be purchased - it appears to be part of a larger TD system that they are selling

At the end of the day, get Markes to demonstrate the usefulness on one of your samples before committing to a large financial outlay They have been very helpful with me in the past and are very experienced in headspace analysis

Regards

Ralph
Regards

Ralph
Good morning Joe

This was invented in Stellenbosch by Ben Burger;