Wood vinegar preparation

Discussions about sample preparation: extraction, cleanup, derivatization, etc.

32 posts Page 1 of 3
Hi all,

I have been approached by one of my colleagues to see whether it is possible to analyse wood vinegar using GC-MS. Now I have no experience in the area of wood vinegar and my colleague has no experience of GC-MS and after looking around at some papers I am not entirely sure how to prepare the sample for analysis. I was thinking of placing a SPME fibre into the wood vinegar then thermally desorbing it in the GC injection port.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Cheers,

Joe
Hi Joe

From wikipeadia

Wood vinegar = The principal components of pyroligneous acid are acetic acid, acetone and methanol. It was once used as a commercial source for acetic acid. In addition, the vinegar often contains 80-90% water along with some 200 organic compounds.

So in answer to your query, yes, SPME into the headspace or into the liquid would work and I would suggest a polar column e.g. Innowax. A good general purpose fibre for this would be a DVB/ carboxen fibre

see http://www.sigmaaldrich.com/technical-d ... ibers.html

Others may have a better experience/ recommendations on this

BUT, from experience (e.g. have you got a hammer? - when what they really needed was a screwdriver - true example) it is easy to get mislead on a query that pre supposes a particular approach -in this case SPME :-)

Do you have any more details on the target analytes and the purpose of the analysis? It may be helpful for others to formulate a better reply

Regards

Ralph
Regards

Ralph
Hi Joe

You'll get a chromatogram using SPME - whether it tells you what you need to know about the vinegar is not guaranteed, whether it's the best method is another question.

How are the mites doing ?

Peter
Peter Apps
GOM wrote:
Hi Joe

From wikipeadia