Problems with the derivatization of a perfluorinated acid

Discussions about sample preparation: extraction, cleanup, derivatization, etc.

17 posts Page 1 of 2
Hi all,

I have some doubts regarding GC analysis of some perfluorinated compounds. I tried derivatizing a perfluorinated acid with acetonitrile, pyridine, isobutyl alcohol and isobutyl chloroformate mixture and extracting the ester formed with hexane. But when I run the GC, I am getting so many peaks and the actual peak for the ester is a real small one.I am really new to this field and so I dont really know how to correct these errors. I tried with BSTFA also;but of no use. How can I make the small peak a significant one?

Do you have any suggestions?

The first question is what is the concentration of the acid (or derivative) at the time of injection? Low concentrations give small peaks.

And what kind of detector are you using?

Assuming that you are using a reasonable detector and have sufficient compund present, then the conditions under which you deritize the acids and the chromatographic conditons might help someone to see where things have gone wrong for you.

Also, are you following a literature prodecure?

Thanks for your reply

Concentration of the acid is 10mg/l.I tried increasing the concentration ;but somehow the peaks are still small.

I am using a GC-EI/MS.

The temperature program that I use is :-
The oven temperature held at 40 ◦C for 3min, ramped at 10 ◦C/min to 170 ◦C and then held for 3min.

Also, how important the transfer line temperature is in getting these results?The temperature should be 300deg celsius but I am using 280deg cel. Is it going to make a huge difference?

Yes,I am following a literature method. I dont understand why so many peaks are coming.

Also the paper suggests the peak area to be around 417,000±30,800 a.u.
Isn't this value a bit small? For my small peak, I am getting area somewhat near this value.