Problema with new column Hamilton prp-1

Discussions about HPLC, CE, TLC, SFC, and other "liquid phase" separation techniques.

5 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi everyone! I am new to the field and I dont know many things yet so I would be very grateful if you could help. I am currently running a related substances analysis on a new column. It s a Hamilton prp-1, 5 um, 150x4,1 mm. My mobile phase is a phospate buffer pH 6.8 one with 95:5 v/vphosphate buffer:acetonitrile and the other one with 34:66 v/v buffer:acn. Gradient elution. Sample preparation with phospate buffer pH 2.5: acetonitrile 95:5 v/v. The problem is that first the pressure is very high, the specificity was tried for 4 days because the pressure kept on rising past 5000 psi. We washer the column with HCl 0.1 M and the pressure was better and could carry out the analysis after all. The problem now is that we need to carry on precision on an impurity containing sample and the impurity doesnt eluate properly and becomes somehow integrated in a peak thats present in the sample preparation mixture. How can i separate this peak properly? Lower flow? Is it ok to wash this column with HCl? It doesnt work otherwise, we tried different washes. Thank you very much!
We need to know what the flow rate is. We need to know the exact sample type, concentration, injection volume, detection method and settings.

You asked, "How can i separate this peak properly?" This requires the process of HPLC method development, which is best solved if you can get some local help from your school. No one can learn all of the needed skills in a week, month or even year and if you had someone knowledgeable nearby, they could make sure your proposed method and column type are suitable for your sample application.