Waters 717plus Autosampler

Discussions about HPLC, CE, TLC, SFC, and other "liquid phase" separation techniques.

9 posts Page 1 of 1
Good morning all,

We have this autosampler in our lab.

One of my colleagues has been using it for quantitative work and found that he wasn't seeing any peaks at a certain injection volume.

I ran a check to see if the AS was consistent in terms of the volume taken from the sample vial. I filled a vial with water and after each injection (e.g. 100uL) I weighed to see if there was a loss of 100mg. Perhaps there is air trapped somewhere in the system, as the apparent mass taken up was much less than expected. It also varies depending on the position of the vial.

Is this a sensible way to assess the performance of the AS? This is quite an old design (pull-to-fill) and I'm no expert on them, but perhaps this check isn't suitable?

Any experts on here that can help?

many thanks,
Chrom
A pull-to-fill design actually has to withdram *more* than the nominal volume in order to account for the amount left behind in the needle and transfer line, so something is seriously wrong. Possibly a blockage somewhere or a bad seal on the syringe.
-- Tom Jupille
LC Resources / Separation Science Associates
tjupille@lcresources.com
+ 1 (925) 297-5374
chromeleon wrote:
One of my colleagues has been using it for quantitative work and found that he wasn't seeing any peaks at a certain injection volume.

is this "certain" volume on the high or low end?

before doing some tests, make sure your AS is purged properly with inital mobile phase. As for the "purge inj" make sure you have a column installed, cause it needs some backpressure for success.

If your detector is working fine, you could do a linearity check as well.
Inject different volumes of a solution of (eg.) caffein dissolved in mobile phase. Plot Area vs. Vinj
-> how does the curve looks like? Linear fit should give r2 >= 0.999.