Flexar HPLC system PerkinElmer

Discussions about HPLC, CE, TLC, SFC, and other "liquid phase" separation techniques.

9 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi everyone,

i'm a medical doctor and I also do research in basic cardiology. Recently my lab bought a UHPLC system from PerkinElmer Flexar FX-10. We don't have much background in the technique and despite the fact that we already have the equipment, I would be pleased to hear the opinion of some experts about our acquisition. What is a bad purchase? Is the system reliable? Looking foward to hear something from you.

Best regards,

Francisco
Portugal
I'm getting apprehensive with the lack of answers..!
is there any Flexar user?
Well, here in Portugal PerkinElmer gives a far better technical and manteinance support than the competition and I think this was the main reason to buy it, but what i really would like to know is whether this equipment competes with waters, agilent, shimadzu counterparts. Please don't be afraid to be honest!

All the best from Portugal!
If you do a search of the Forum for the keywords "Perkin Elmer" and then repeat for "Agilent", "Waters", "Shimadzu", "Dionex", . . . etc. you will see that almost no one asks about PE. That can be interpreted in two ways:
1. Their equipment is so trouble-free that no one has problems with it, or
2. Very few people use their equipment.

Given that their global market share is somewhere in the low single-digits, I suspect that #2 is the more probable! :wink:

If I were in your shoes, I would ask my PE rep to give me the names of other users in my area to talk to for mutual support.
-- Tom Jupille
LC Resources / Separation Science Associates
tjupille@lcresources.com
+ 1 (925) 297-5374
Thank you Tom!

Yes, I noticed that there's very few posts about PE HPLC equipments.
I have to agree with you although i will believe that option #1 can be true as well until proven otherwise!

Regards,

Francisco