Performance Qualification Testing

Discussions about HPLC, CE, TLC, SFC, and other "liquid phase" separation techniques.

8 posts Page 1 of 1
I have inherited HPLC performance qualification duties from a coworker who recently left the company. I got very brief training before he left. I should note here that I am a biologist by education and training, not an analytical chemist. The procedure I was shown calls for 5 standards of butyl benzoate, ranging from 1.0 mg/L to 10.0 mg/L, prepared in HPLC-grade water, from an acetonitrile (ACN) stock. We also include a butyl benzoate QC sample at 5.0 mg/L, prepared the same way. I was having trouble getting consistent results until I changed from preparing the samples in water to preparing in 20:80 ACN:water. Still, I seem to be getting some unexpected variability, particularly at the higher concentrations (7.5 mg/L and 10.0 mg/L). My questions are: Are there stability/solubility issues with butyl benzoate that I should be aware of? Should I be preparing these samples immediately before analysis? Should I use a higher solvent concentration? Should I be using a different concentration range? Any general hints on this procedure?
Compare peak shapes and retention times - are the more concentrated standards eluting earlier and asymmetrically compared to the lower concentration injections?
If so, you may be overloading the column or detector.
Thanks,
DR