LC-MS column clogged

Discussions about HPLC, CE, TLC, SFC, and other "liquid phase" separation techniques.

14 posts Page 1 of 1
This is my first time posting here, so I don’t know exactly what information to give, but I would really appreciate some help with my LC-MS column (MS is ESI). I’m still relatively new to LC-MS, and I’ve been analyzing aqueous solutions of sucrose with the Phenomenex Luna 3um NH2 column, HILIC chromatography. My mobile phase has acetonitrile and water with 0.1% ammonium hydroxide. I understood that I was supposed to leave a trickle of mobile phase running through the column over night, so after I finish using the instrument I’ve been leaving it on 50% acetonitrile, 25% pure water, and 25% water with 0.1% ammonium hydroxide (to keep the pH constant). This has been working just fine until last week. All of a sudden, the pressure shot up, and after testing different parts of the instrument, I determined my column was almost completely blocked somehow. I only ran aqueous sucrose that day. I tried to run water and methanol through the column to get it to open up, and it has improved somewhat, but the pressure is still around 1500 psi with only 0.03 mL/min flow. It should be around 1500 psi with 0.2 mL/min. I’ve been filtering solvents and purging about every week. Should I keep running some type of solvent, or reverse the flow, or any other suggestions?
The Luna NH2 material is based on silica, and silica dissolves at a significant rate at a pH > 8. Possibly the high pH conferred by 0.1% NH4OH dissolved enough silica that some of the particles collapsed. The resulting small fragments would account for the increase in backpressure you describe. Where did you get these operating conditions?
PolyLC Inc.
(410) 992-5400
aalpert@polylc.com
Andy Alpert wrote: