Peaks seem to break apart

Discussions about HPLC, CE, TLC, SFC, and other "liquid phase" separation techniques.

8 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi, I'm relatively new to HPLC.

How would you deal with this kind of problem? Where would you start?

I'm having trouble with the peaks I'm getting. They seem to overlay, and looked likes a two-headed peak wanting to separate. (see image 1 in this link: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1uFiJCC ... sp=sharing)

Now, I know I can work on the resolution of the 2nd and the 3rd peaks. But based on my previous runs, the peaks are single and nice in the next image. (see image 2: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Y1vQRd ... sp=sharing)

Here's some details:

Shimadzu HPLC-20AD
Mobile Phase - 25% Methanol, 75% Phosphate Buffer
Total flow - 1.5 mL/min
column - Chromolith® SpeedROD RP-18 endcapped 50-4.6 HPLC column

I used a mixed standard of NDS isomers in the chromatograms presented.

Thank you very much. :D :D :D
Hi Marino,

This issue looks like your isomers/analytes are partially ionized. I know you mentioned a buffer solution for your mobile phase, now is the mobile phase buffered to what pH? Additionally, what are your target analytes moieties? Are any of them acids or bases? These types of split peaks can be due to some of your analyte retaining as a neutral molecule, while the other portion is eluting ionized (simple explanation). This will distribute your analytes in a larger range where some may experience more time as a neutral molecule (better retention for hydrophobic stationary phases), and some spend more time charged (better retained in water).
Another potential issue may be your lamp's lifetime, but I'm not certain about this suggestion-- it wouldn't hurt checking the hours though. My Shimadzu lamp is typically good for 2000 hours, however the lamps generally start going bad after two years with or without use.

Tyler Smith.