Peak symmetry vs spectrum shape

Discussions about HPLC, CE, TLC, SFC, and other "liquid phase" separation techniques.

7 posts Page 1 of 1
Hello,

I have little experience with 3D view and spectral analysis. I would like to ask for help in deciding whether the asymmetry/symmetry of the peak affects the shape of the spectrum. I inject salicylic acid (225 to 280 nm) and for the Waters instrument I get a symmetrical peak (1.2) at 270nm, the MAX at 238nm and the expected shape of the spectrum. After transferring the phase, column and sample to the Shimadzu (LC20) apparatus, the peak has an asymmetry of 1.7 (little back tailing), the MAX at 228nm and the wrong shape of the spectrum on the shorter wavelength side - starts well from the left, but then a downward jump occurs and futher good again. It seems that all elements of the method for Waters and Shimadzu are identical. Could this difference in asymmetry cause a bad spectrum?

[img][IMG]http://img4.imagetitan.com/img4/small/24/24_viber_image_2021-09-06_21-44-02x.jpg[/img][/img]

Best Regards
Greg
I am guessing wildly here: I think you have a more worrying thing going on. You shouldn't really get a change in peak shape on moving between two instruments, if your method is robust, and the column/solvents are the same.