Elution profile

Discussions about HPLC, CE, TLC, SFC, and other "liquid phase" separation techniques.

4 posts Page 1 of 1
Hello Everyone,
Before posting my questions, i must acknowledge that i am new in working with HPLCs and do not have much training. My work mostly involves visualizing (Chromatographs) metabolism of radio-labelled (C14) herbicides and their metabolites in HPLC. I have been given this elution profile "The elution profile was as follows: 0 to 2 min, 0 to 20% (of eluent B) linear gradient; 2 to 10 min, 20 to 40% linear gradient; 12 to 17 min, 40 to 70% linear gradient; 17 to 19 min, 70 to 90% linear gradient (19 min total) followed by; 19 to 22 min, 90 to 50% linear gradient; 22 to 25 min, 20% isocratic hold to re-equilibrate the column for the next sample injection (25 min total)." .
Previously, our lab was using reverse-phase High-performance Liquid Chromatography (HPLC) (System Gold, Beckman Coulter, Pasadena, CA, USA) but recently we bought Agilent Infinity 1260. The HPLC is connected to Berthhold radio-detector as we are working only to visualize compounds with C14 present in them. The eluents i am using for the separation are : eluent A (water with 0.1% TFA) and eluent B (acetonitrile with 0.1% TFA).
I have few questions regrading this :
1) What should be the A:B ratio between 10-12 minutes?
2) I am not sure how much pressure i should be using for the separation? It goes till 600 bars in the new machine.

I appreciate any help regrading this. Also, if you need any more information. Feel free to ask.
1. 40%
2. Pressure is not something you set; it is a dependent variable. If you use the same column / mobile phase / flow rate / temperature on both systems, the pressure should be approximately the same.
-- Tom Jupille
LC Resources / Separation Science Associates
tjupille@lcresources.com
+ 1 (925) 297-5374