HPLC troubleshooting.

Discussions about HPLC, CE, TLC, SFC, and other "liquid phase" separation techniques.

8 posts Page 1 of 1
Hey there, let me start off by saying that i am very new to HPLCs and how they operate. Let me start with my problem. Up until recently our HPLC which is used with our RI detector has been testing samples fine. However, we have a had a problem with calibration as of late. We calibrate our unit once per month, however this time we ended up with funny results. Our "amounts" are not reading anywhere close to what they were the previous month. Our standards are prepared by a 3rd party and the standards are used kept cold and used for several months until more is needed. I will say that the samples that are being run now have the same retention time as the previous months samples, however the area and peak heights are different. Unfortunately this is happening to all samples we run on this machine. I will consider changing out syringe and injection port/needle. I just want to see if anyone has had this problem before and what they might have done to fix it. I know this is vague but will answer any more questions that might be helpful. Thanks
I would suggest to find a separate check standard, one that is known to be stable and works with your same column and mobile phase if possible.

labuser2020 wrote:
We calibrate our unit once per month, however this time we ended up with funny results.

Please explain exactly what this "calibration" entails.

We did pharmaceuticals but even for non-regulated assays we would run and quantitate v. standards every day/every sequence.

Was your standard a different batch or lot? Did you compare to a standard run previously but now injected at same time as current standard?