O2, CO2 and CH4 with ShinCarbon ST 80/100 2mx2mm (TCD + FID)

Discussions about GC and other "gas phase" separation techniques.

6 posts Page 1 of 1
Hello everyone,

I am a PHD student, and I try to learn to use a GC-17A to analyze these different compounds: O2, CO2, CH4, H2S.
I reach out CH4 (retention time 6.4 min) without any problem on a FID with a ShinCarbon ST 80/100 Packed 2m x 2mm, and H2S on a PFPD with a GasPro 0.32x 30m. I have a methanizer, which will allow me to have the CO2 on the FID.

I have a TCD that I could put in series with the FID. But I wonder if the ShinCarbon will be able to correctly separate O2?
I did a search in the forum, but the posts are quite old, and I'm not sure I have the correct answer, nor the right configuration.

Here is a diagram of my current setup:
The flow rate in line 1 is 20 mL/min, oven temperature is 65°C.

If necessary, I have in reserve a-6-port valve, a column Porapak Q 80/100, and a column Moil Sieve 5A.

Thank you in advance for any answer !
Check out this site. It will give you an idea on what can be separated on different lengths of Shincarbon column.
We have found that 50/80 mesh works similar to 80/100 mesh

http://www.hichrom.com/assets/Products/ ... N-ST_E.PDF

Gasman
Perfect this document, it is very useful, thank you ! Unfortunately for me, I believe my column will not be long enough to separate nitrogen from oxygen: /
Hi

With regards to separating oxygen and nitrogen, you say that you have a Mol sieve 5A column. This will do that for you. It just needs to be conditioned properly at a high temperature

Regards

Ralph
Regards

Ralph