[Empower3] How to use Peak Width and Detection Threshold

Discussions about chromatography data systems, LIMS, controllers, computer issues and related topics.

9 posts Page 1 of 1
I'm new at using EMP3 and I can't figure out how to practically use (in terms of what do settings of these parameters mean and how to use them in analysis).

I've read the Help section however it's a bit too technical for me at the moment so I was wondering if someone has time to explain the two parameters (and why/how use it at analysis)?

Thank you.
Peakwidth is fairly critical. Set it using your smallest peak of interest, somewhere between the Empower suggested level and about half that value will work. Then set detection threshold to screen out peaks that are too small to be of any consequence. % liftoff and % touchdown will get integration started and stopped at the right points. This all assumes you use Apex tracking (and you should).
Thanks,
DR
also use the ProcessingMethod Wizard until you're familiar with these parameters.
It will guide you through every step of defining the parameters. Finally have a look at the created processing method to see where those values were added to.
If I got it right, peakwidth will set the minimum width for peak recognition? As in, peaks wide less than X seconds will be ignored?
Set peak width to AutoPeakWidth ie leave the global value blank, then enter a start and end time depending on your chromatogram, ensuring only to include the relevant peak areas and nothing like solvent front or return to gradient artefacts.
When this is done, apply your method set and this way Empower 3 automatically calculates the optimum peak width for each injection, works the same for Autothreshold.
DavidHPLC wrote:
If I got it right, peakwidth will set the minimum width for peak recognition? As in, peaks wide less than X seconds will be ignored?