LCMS Troubleshooting: Increasing Quantification on Standards

Discussions about GC-MS, LC-MS, LC-FTIR, and other "coupled" analytical techniques.

12 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi all,

I am fairly new to HPLC/LCMS, and I am currently working on method development on an Agilent 1200 Series HPLC and 6100 MSD that has not been in use for about 5 years. My goal is quantification of certain additives in polymers.

I create standards by making a stock solution and diluting it down to a range of 100-250ppm, and my calibration curve is linear. I have remade the standards about 8 times, and my results are not consistent with one another, they appear to be increasing for each concentration, but linear for the same run.

The same trend goes for actual samples that I run on the machine. There is a definite pattern of increasing peak area, more consistent than the standards, where they should all be the same.

I thought the problem initially was contamination of the needle, or some other carryover from the previous sample. I fixed the issue by adding a needle wash and a longer post-run purge of the tubing. This unfortunately hasn't seemed to fix the issue with my increasing standards.

Any suggestions to what my issue is?
What is the time frame within which you will see this increase? If you prepare your standard curve and then run it again immediately after is this increase apparent? Or do you see the increase when you run it a few hours later or the next day? Also, what is the magnitude of the increase that you see, 10%, 50%?
It is about a 20% increase between runs, and I see the difference in the time frame of a day.

If I run the same sample repeatedly, I have seen as much as a 20% difference in peak areas, but the values appear to stay within this range for each sample.