Gas Sample Collection/Preparation Suggestions and Advices

Discussions about GC and other "gas phase" separation techniques.

3 posts Page 1 of 1
Hello, I am relatively new to GC world and I would like to receive some advice or suggestions/precautions on collecting gas samples.

I am currently a graduate student in an engineering department and we just recently placed an order for a GC for a simple gas analysis to complement our research. We ordered a system with its barebone setup, nothing fancy, just a detector with a manual injection port and we do not have any plan to modify the GC setup at the moment.

We have a separate setup with a pressure vessel with our sample gases, our goal is to collect gas from this pressure vessel and inject the sample manually into the GC. What would be the best simplest way to collect gas and inject into GC without contaminating it?

I was thinking of either:
1. collecting the gas in a small stainless-steel vessel then use the syringe to collect and inject it into GC or
2. Use a small balloon to collect the sample from the vessel and put the balloon into a vial then use a syringe to collect and inject the sample.

Our samples are either going to natural gas or normal hydrocarbons. Would collecting these samples into stainless steel vessel affect the properties? if I use balloon approach, can I just buy any balloon from the local store or do I need to order some special balloon?

My background is mostly in mechanical works and I do not have any chemical analysis experience also I am the one of few laboratory guy in a simulation research group so, any inputs or suggestions are much appreciated. Thank you!
If you were looking for the best precision, I would say mount a rotary injection valve in the oven and use the gas to fill a loop of fixed volume and inject at atmospheric pressure by rotating the valve after filling the loop. I have a system that is used to analyze beverage-grade CO2 and that's how we get the best precision.