5975C MSD Electrical/Timeout Issues

Discussions about GC and other "gas phase" separation techniques.

3 posts Page 1 of 1
Hello Everyone,

I am new to writing in the forum, but I have been reading for a long time now and I really learn a lot and really just love this resource.

I have a 5975C MSD running with Chemstation E.02.00 SP2. The GC is a 7890A with an FPD installed.

For the last few months the system periodically shuts itself off in the middle of a run. Initially the error was a 'BitMap Error' where the line in the TIC when absolutely crazy out of the chemstation window onto the desktop. There is actually a thread about this on this forum. I reinstalled Chemstation on a fresh PC, but with the SP2 and I transferred our methods and sequence files. This didn't the "BitMap Error" problem initially, however, leaving the window minimized and not having it run maximized seems to have stopped that error from occurring.

Now we are getting an error that says "MS Instrument Control and Calibration has encountered a problem and needs to close". Some times this is accompanied by, literally, 500 small windows that say "Data Retrieval Failure" and some time not.

Sometime we have no error at all, except that Chemstation has completely closed and and the only indication is in the MSLog which is kind of scares. Normally the error in the log says "No responce, cannot bring MS online (possible bad address or exsisting lock) (error 209)" Error 209 pertains to the Foreline pressure I think which was fine at that moment. In this situation I bealive that the MSD thought it was going into Vent State as if the Foreline pressure exceeded 300mTorr - which it hadn't and wasn't actually vented. After a vent cycle is the only time I can think of that Chemstation closes automatically.