Possible Co-Eluter Issues - DAD

Discussions about HPLC, CE, TLC, SFC, and other "liquid phase" separation techniques.

8 posts Page 1 of 1
I am relatively new to exploring HPLC DAD so my apologies if some of this inquiry come across as rudimentary.

It has been brought to my attention that recent caffeine measurements are varying significantly from what was expected during time studies being conducted by R&D. The method is utilizing HPLC-DAD (one wavelength). The large decreases over time for this compound (in a complex natural product), as indicated by the results, are being questioned.

One suspicion is that a less stable co-eluter is the cause. This has not been confirmed but brings about my question(s) –

Our method, and a number of others that I have bumped into online it seems, make no mention of an attempt to conduct a “peak purity” type of check utilizing multiple wavelengths to compare the peak of interest in the sample to that of a pure standard. I understand that this is not a way to prove with certainty that no co-eluters are present but rather a way to show that they are there if variation exists in the expected pattern. But it still seems like an extremely helpful and important step when dealing with complex matrices where no 0 level control exists.

Am I wrong in feeling that this method needs to be scrapped, or at least revisited to determine if an evident co-eluter exists? And am I wrong in being a bit surprised in not seeing multi wavelength comparisons to pure standards for complex matrix samples in some of the research out there? Some make mention of using SPE or solvent extraction to remove matrix interferences but make no mention of efforts to confirm the extent of the cleanup at the RT of the analyte of interest. At least that was my take away.